repeater pips in analogue

A Place to ask about the TYT range of radios
m6cue
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: Hungerford
Call Sign: M6CUE
Contact:

repeater pips in analogue

Postby m6cue » Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:24 pm

Can anyone advise on which tick box to check/uncheck in the tyt DM380 programming software that allows analogue repeater "pips" to be heard.
Best 73 de Neil M6CUE

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Metradio » Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:50 pm

Can you explain a bit more on what the analogue repeater 'pips' are please?
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

G7RVH
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 11:07 am
Location: Norfolk, UK
Call Sign: G7RVH

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby G7RVH » Sun Sep 27, 2015 8:32 pm

Is this related to CTCSS?
Richard
2E1CIR & G7RVH
http://www.g7rvh.com
Norfolk, UK

Bradley
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:01 pm
Call Sign: 2E0XBW

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Bradley » Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:38 am

I assume you are referring to Morse Identity and/or the 'G' over beep?

Sounds like you have CTCSS enabled on RX as well as TX. You only need it on TX, just need to change CTCSS to none on the appropriate box.

MOSMM
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:30 pm
Call Sign: M6XYZ

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby MOSMM » Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:54 pm

Is the OP not referring to the fact that under a UK DMR repeater station's license conditions (NoV) it must still send a Repeater Identification just like any other repeater and he wants to hear them on his radio?

the GB7BS website says it uses this solution...


...as part of the license conditions (NoV) we must send a Repeater Identification.

This is done as a traditional CW Beacon every 20min. To do this the repeater will automatically switch its transmitter to analogue mode (FM) and broadcast a CW ID. Once completed the transmitter switches back to digital (DMR) mode.

This beacon is only transmitted when there is no digital traffic or if both Time Slots are not in use. It should be noted that if a analogue beacon is being broadcast then no digital (DMR) traffic will be allowed.

Besides the analogue CW ID, there is also a Digital beacon or ID that gets transmitted every 5 min when the repeater is not in use. However, if the repeater is busy then this digital ID is broadcast as part of the bit stream.

This digital beacon or ID is used for radio’s that use the Roam function to determine which repeater is the best (if its in range of more than one) and automatically change channel to make use of it. This Roam function is primarily for when using the South West Cluster Network. Not all radio’s support Roaming.


User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Metradio » Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:22 am

MOSMM wrote:Is the OP not referring to the fact....

Well we don't know, like many they ask a question then disappear not to be heard again till they have another question. If they get the answer they are after, we don't know. Some helpful folks go to great lengths to answer on-line questions to be left hanging, no thank you - nothing.. :(

If you go the extra mile - good on you..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

Paul-2E0SQK
Site Admin
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:29 pm
Location: Wirral, UK
Call Sign: 2E0SQK

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Paul-2E0SQK » Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:26 pm

Joys of forums, looking at his log in activity hes got his answer and thats it.

As you say will prob be back when there is another question to be asked but then after all that is why we are here

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Metradio » Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:50 pm

True.. I first thought it was a young whipper snapper with no time to stop, but no - it was an oldie like me :o
Call me old fashioned but it is only polite to say thank you for any help even though you might already have got your answer..

Bah Humbug :)

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

Paul-2E0SQK
Site Admin
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:29 pm
Location: Wirral, UK
Call Sign: 2E0SQK

Re: repeater pips in analogue

Postby Paul-2E0SQK » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:31 pm

Mike totally agree with you.

A simple cheers for that goes along way it really does


Return to “TYT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron