Wrong model ?

A Place to ask about the TYT range of radios
G3YTI
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:47 pm
Call Sign: G3YTI

Wrong model ?

Postby G3YTI » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:56 pm

Hi All,
Just joined the forum & new to digital !!,just dxvd the TYT DMR 390 txvr today.
After setting up the programming using CPS DM390 V 1.30 s/w and attempting to write to the rig I get an error message:
"Wrong model". After spending all afternoon trying to programme this rig ( following youtube vids) to be confronted with this error message has taken the edge off things a little.

Can any body help with this question.
I checked the "radio info" page on the rig and the software or firmware is at S0 13.009 & CPV is V01.34.. the "0"s maybe O !! hi hi

have spoken with the supplier on the phone and he cannot help me at this time.

Best 73.
Steve. G3YTI

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby Metradio » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:50 pm

Hi Steve, I take it you did not try to 'Read' the radio first ??

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

G3YTI
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:47 pm
Call Sign: G3YTI

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby G3YTI » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:53 pm

Hi Mike,
Sorry i am confused by your answer??, I managed to find V1.34 on GB7DD web site.
Installed same and attempted to create a "plug" from a youtube demo which was written without any problems!!.
However it did not work hi hi, 70 turns on the coil here Mike..probably getting too old to change to new tech after nearly 50 years of being an Amateur!!!.
Its a big learning curve and things don't just "click" on the first reading nor 2 nor 3 etc etc!!.

Best 73,
Steve G3YTI

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby Metradio » Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:02 am

When you get a programmable radio you first of all 'Read' the radio contents and save them as a file so that if it all goes wrong you can reload the original read contents back into the radio..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

radiotwo
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:42 am
Call Sign: G6YRK

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby radiotwo » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:24 pm

Hi Steve
Not sure if this will help !

MD-390 has three firmware, old vocoder and new vocoder with GPS and new vocoder without GPS, so please check version first in the radio, check menu-utilities-radio info-versions and if you find the version is D002 and D003, it should the old vocoder and the latest firmware is MD380-D3.20, while if the version is D013, and radio has GPS, the firmware should be MD390-S13.20 and if radio doesn’t have GPS, it should be MD380-D13.20

g4eml
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:23 am
Call Sign: G4EML

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby g4eml » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:04 am

Hello Steve,

To clarify what the other posts are saying, the most reliable way of programming a radio is to do the following:-

Read the existing Codeplug from the radio.

Save the Codeplug to disk.

Modify the Codeplug you have just read to the way you want your radio to be set up.

Write the modified Codeplug back to the radio.

Save your modified Codeplug to disk.


Doing things this way ensures that the Codeplug you create is compatible with the radio model. Most programming software can create codeplugs for various models and revisions of radio. Creating a Codeplug from scratch can result in it being configured incorrectly for your radio.

If you cannot read the existing Codeplug from your radio then you may have the wrong version of programming software.

Colin G4EML

Tyrbiter
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 12:05 pm
Call Sign: G8SEZ

Re: Wrong model ?

Postby Tyrbiter » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:46 pm

I would suggest going to http://tyt888.com and downloading the latest firmware for the MD390, it comes in a fairly large zip or rar file and contains a directory for each variation of MD3x0, with an without GPS where relevant and with old vocoder and new vocoder.

Direct link to the file is http://www.tyt888.com/uploadfile/upfile ... 112120.zip

The MD390 you have is a GPS version (fw says S13.009 rather than D13.009) and thus will have new vocoder so you need the S13.xxx.bin file to flash new firmware.

The CPS software for this radio is now at version 1.36 which will also be in the file you need, you'll find it in the directory for your radio which is the MD390G with GPS and new vocoder.

HTH
Brian


Return to “TYT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron