Understanding the "scan" mode...

A place to discuss the TYT range of radios
F5HCC
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:07 am
Call Sign: F5HCC

Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby F5HCC » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:22 am

Hello.
I just bought a MD-380, and I don't understand how the "scan" function works...
I understand that there are "zones" with up to 16 "channels" (memories) and that there are "scan lists" which can be populated with "channels", but I don't understand how to tell the radio to scan the channels I put in a specific scan list.
I also read about the "Auto scan" option in the channels information, but I don't understand the meaning of it.
I read many topics about scan, but as I don't understand the basics of this function in DMR, all that is very confused for me !
Sorry, I have been a radioamateur for more than 30 years now, I'm only used to "classic analog" radios and my D-Star radios !
Any help welcome !
Fabrice, F5HCC.

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby Metradio » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:08 pm

OK Fabrice, see the graphics below - Select the Channel that you want to activate SCAN, select the SCAN LIST name in "A". If you wish for the Scan to start automaticaly when you select this Channel, tick Box "B". If you wish to do a manual Scan when this Channel is selected leave the Box unticked and push your Scan button as required. The SCAN ON/OFF button can be set up in the Button Definitions page.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (84.89 KiB) Viewed 4487 times

Edited Scan List name for clarity..

Mike
Last edited by Metradio on Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

F5HCC
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:07 am
Call Sign: F5HCC

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby F5HCC » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Hello Mike.
Thanks a lot for your reply !
I'll try the way you showed on the screenshot.
So it means that a channel can only be included in one scan list ?
Fabrice, F5HCC.

User avatar
G6ENU
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:17 pm
Call Sign: G6ENU
Contact:

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby G6ENU » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:18 pm

F5HCC wrote:So it means that a channel can only be included in one scan list ?


If a channel were in two scan lists, how would the radio know which list to scan starting from that channel?
Ian
Camberley
Surrey

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby Metradio » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:26 pm

No, you can include a channel in as many scan lists as you like.
Only one Scan List can be activated per operating channel
A Scan List can have up to 32 channels in it (both analogue and digital).
AFAIR the MD-380 has a maximum of 200 Scan Lists.

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby Metradio » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:31 pm

G6ENU wrote:If a channel were in two scan lists, how would the radio know which list to scan starting from that channel?


You can only have one Scan List entry per channel, so there would never be a conflict..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby Metradio » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:48 pm

One other thing Fabrice. In each of your Scan Lists, in the entry Tx Designated Channel make sure you have selected
Last Active Channel. That way if you answer a call whilst in Scan mode you reply on the correct channel. You need to be quick before it starts acanning again and finds another conversation ;)

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

F5HCC
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:07 am
Call Sign: F5HCC

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby F5HCC » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:17 pm

OK, thanks !

Fabrice, F5HCC.

F5HCC
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:07 am
Call Sign: F5HCC

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby F5HCC » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:21 pm

What is the use of the "Priority Channel 1" and "Priority Channel 2" options in the scan list window ?

Fabrice, F5HCC.

User avatar
Metradio
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:32 pm
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: Understanding the "scan" mode...

Postby Metradio » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:30 pm

I have not played with the Priority Channels, but as far as I know if "Priority Channel 1" is selected 50% of the scanning time is spent scanning this channel, If "Priority Channel 2" is selected as well, 25% of the scanning time is spent on each "Priority Channel".
This could be useful if you have a L O N G Scanning List and the radio takes a long time to scan through the channels, you could select up to two channels that would be scanned more often than the rest.

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT


Return to “TYT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron