New MD-380 User - Windows 10

A place to discuss the TYT range of radios
G4NRT
Call Sign: G4NRT

New MD-380 User - Windows 10

Postby G4NRT » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:17 am

I am a total newbie at DMR notwithstanding that I have been licensed for over thirty years and am an experienced D-Star user HOWEVER none of this has helped in my current predicament!

I have just bought a TYT MD-380 (used but as new). I am using a Microsoft Surface Book running Windows 10 with the latest updates.

I have installed v1.30 (the latest I could find) of the TYT software and I am plugging the original TYT Cable directly into a USB port not he Surface Book - not using a hub. When I plug the cable in I hear a beep telling me that it is connected and if I look in my Device Manager, I see (under USB Controllers) a device called "STM Device in DFU Mode" which appears to be the radio.

However, when I try to READ from the radio I get a pop up which says "Microsoft (Loads of Chinese characters) has stopped working"

I do not know what to try next ... do I need specific Win 10 drivers? Surely someone has this working on Windows 10?

Help!

Thanks,

David G4NRT

Metradio
Call Sign: G7HID

Re: New MD-380 User - Windows 10

Postby Metradio » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:48 am

Hi David, I do not have an MD380 but I know that you are correct about the programming lead just being a cable that connects between radio and USB port, and any connection is to the radio directly..
This appears to be a group worth joining:
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/TYT ... s/messages

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPYonARD
WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT

G4NRT

Postby G4NRT » Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:19 am

Thanks Mike .. I will join for sure!

73, David

paulears
Call Sign: G4RMT

Postby paulears » Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:43 am